The Sustainable Development Goals

On 25 September 2015, the Agenda 2030 for Sustainable Development was adopted by all 193 member states of the United Nations. The 2030 Agenda entails 17 Sustainable Development Goals called SDGs, which include the three dimensions of sustainable development: the economic, social and environmental.

The SDGs offer a new, interlinked understanding of global challenges such as poverty, environmental degradation, inequality, modes of production, consumption, corruption and others. At its core lies the understanding that different problems must be addressed simultaneously as well as globally instead of regionally or thematically. As a consequence, the responsibility for implementing the goals lies both at the national as well as the international level. It needs concerted efforts towards building an inclusive, sustainable and resilient future for our people and the planet.

The 17 SDGs are divided into 169 targets. Please click on the icons to see the respective targets.

Further information

SDG Icons

SDG status: facts and figures

Decoration, Merchandise

  • Official UN Shop (Shipping from the USA)
  •  (cooperation of Phoenix Design Aid and UN SDG Campaign, shipping from Denmark)

Literature, Educational Material